One Week Down…

….five to seven weeks to go before I can ride a bike again. At least my fall wasn’t quite as embarrassing as this guy (h/t GCPVD)

I went to the orthopedist earlier this week to get the official word on my injuries. There was quite a bit of waiting in which I had the pleasure of listening to the inane (or possibly pain-killer induced) non-sequitur observations of the person next to me. A few choice examples:

You know that couch on The View? That looks really comfortable. Probably expensive though.

You know that Chris Brown? He gets really mad.

I don’t like the new Taurus. It’s too conservatively styled like it’s trying too hard you know what kind of car I don’t like? BMWs. I like light blue beemers though.

Luckily, he was sharing his astute pronouncements with someone else so I was not required to smile and nod like Spouse does when I start talking about folding bikes (by smiling and nodding, I mean grimacing and rolling her eyes).

Finally, I got to see the doctor, who showed me my X-ray:

In case you can’t tell where the break is, I’ll demonstrate my photoshop skillz:

those are lightning bolts of pain

So that’s going to keep me off my bike for quite a while. One bit of good news – I won’t have to keep my arm in a sling the whole time. Soon I’ll be back to blogging two handed!

In the meantime, if I can’t be crabby about biking, what can I write about? How about our public transit system! I’m going to take this bike-free period as an opportunity to fully explore the Rhode Island Public Transit Authority system. First thing to be crabby about: Monthly passes are for calendar months – I can’t buy one for March 20 – April 20. I have to buy one for all of April and buy short-term passes in the meantime. Oh well….

I have one more RIPTA gripe for this post. With the exception of subway systems in a few large cities, American public transit systems are largely impenetrable to the visitor, casual user or temporarily injured “n00b” like me. One won’t find a system map at any stop (except for a central hub), and it’s difficult to know where the next designated stop is located. After my visit to the orthopedistnat RI Hospital, I needed to take the bus back to work. Because I took the bus to RIH, I knew where the bus stop was. However….

There was no sign anywhere indicating that this was a bus stop. Nothing in the lobby, nothing in the circle drive. There’s no indication of what route stops here and where it goes. Just imagine, you’re discharged from the emergency room, still a little woozy from meds, still in pain from your injuries – how are you supposed to know that this is the bus stop? I guess it’s just like missing street signs in New England, if you have to ask, you probably shouldn’t be there.

9 responses to “One Week Down…

  1. Good point about RIPTA. If they really want to be a transit provider they need to work to make it as easy as possible to use the system.

    And they can talk about BRT all they want, it isn’t going to solve the issues.

    • I think most organizations could use an outside perspective every once in a while. Maybe I should apply to be their ombudsman.

  2. Even if there is a bus stop in that circle driveway, not every bus on the routes that go past actually pull through that loop. I used to ride the #3 fairly often, admittedly usually during commuter hours or first run of the day, and I don’t think I ever have been through that loop. The stops on Eddy Street are the only ones that are consistent.

    • wow – see i didn’t even know that. There are no signs indicating which stops are for which routes. It’s a good thing i planned ahead – even then, i almost got on the bus going the wrong direction.

  3. Another problem they used to have were the bike racks. Some buses had them, but you never knew which ones. I remember putting my bike on a rack and going from Providence to Bristol. Time to come home, and a bus without a rack shows up. Next bus is an hour away. The driver let me carry the bike onboard and stand it up in the rear entrance – probably highly illegal, but this is RI.

    • I believe that all buses except for the “trolleys” now have bike racks. That sounds like a big PITA the way they used to have it. I know that some bus systems will allow a bike on the bus if the front rack is full – but only at the discretion of the driver (e.g. if the bus is not full of people). However, I don’t see anything on the ripta site about bringing a bike on board the bus, so you’re probably right.

      Here’s the relevant page: http://ripta.com/content260.html

  4. Pingback: Tweetdown: @carfreepvd vs. @RIPTA_RI | Car-Free in PVD

  5. Pingback: On The Street with CarFreePVD | Car-Free in PVD

  6. Pingback: Bike Month – Baby Steps | Car-Free in PVD

Leave a Reply

