hiatus

-yawn- -stretch- -hmmsgrrrghh-

Well, that was a refreshing break from blogging. Something we all need from time to time. Something we don’t need is a break from cycling. And as mentioned previously, I’m very happy that my break from cycling is over. I’ve been back on the bike for about two and a half weeks, and it feels great. I haven’t been on any long rides yet, just to and from work or the store. After just a couple days on the Raleigh, I switched back to my regular day-to-day bike, a 2005 Cannondale flat-bar roadbike (or “performance hybrid” if you prefer). The Raleigh is certainly a distinctive ride, but sometimes I just want to get to work or get home without lugging 40 pounds of steel around. I’ve had no issues with pain in my collarbone, so everything seems to be going fine. Instead, my ankle has been bothering me, so I’ve laid off the clipless pedals for a while. Instead, I’m rocking it like a retro-grouch with my Keens.

But enough about me, It’s bike month!

What’s that? Bike Month was May and I hardly blogged at all? Oh well…. I was all set to mark Bike To Work Week since it was the first full week that I was able to actually ride my bike. Of course, BTWW is not much of a challenge to me, so I decided to participate in BTWW on “expert” level: Bike To Work While Wearing a Tie Week:

I couldn’t quite complete the expert level. The temptations of “casual Friday” are to great for me, so I left the tie at home. Still, four days in a row while wearing tie, that’s good for something, right?

Besides, it was wicked cold:

The temperatures got a little better for the concentrated glory that is “Bike To Work Day” (The Friday of BTWW).  I missed BTWD last year because I was visiting family in Olathe KS, where I joined fellow blogger, commuterDude on his bicycle commute. (This limited-edition collabo resulted in my most epic post ever). Unfortunately, I missed the BTWD festivities this year because I had to be at work at 6:30 AM. I took a coffee break a little after 9:00 AM, and rolled up to the WWI memorial where all of the bike commuters were supposed to gather. Only two bike commuters remained, one holding a sack of mini-bagels. As the last commuter to join the fun, I got the bagels as my reward. GCPVD was there, and captured a few pictures including this one which I believe I have annotated just enough for it to qualify as “fair use.”

The orange arrow points to our mayor, Angel Tavares. He is usually driven around in a Hybrid SUV (which was purchased during his predecessor’s administration), so it’s nice to see him on a bike. I don’t know who the woman next to him is (indicated by the yellow arrow), but she is looking the most “cycle chic” out of the collection of commuters that day. I’ve used a green lightning bolt to indicate a set of Zipp carbon wheels on a carbon road racing bike. Perhaps not the best commuter bike choice, but hey, I guess some people drive to work in a Porsche, so why not ride a racing bike to work? Really, I’m just jealous of his coffee mug that fits in a water bottle cage – I’ve got to get myself one of those!

Something else I need to get (at the suggestion of reader, V.):

Now that’s a bike fit for a contraption captain!

I’ve heard that one of these has been spotted on the East Bay Bike Path. The first reader to provide pics gets…. um. I don’t really have any prizes. How about some of my expert-level gratitude?

Leave a Reply

