Bay Area grab-bag pt. 1

In previous posts, I described my latest fake commute, but now in looking through my photos, I find that there were some other interesting shots in there.

I saw this awesome smugness chariot at the Berkeley Bowl (a grocery store that makes Whole Foods look like a Piggly Wiggly). That’s an Xtracycle long-tail bike with a child seat and a set of “stoker” handlebars. That means you can take two kids with you, and with those giant panniers, bring home enough groceries for a week. That’s not just smug, that’s Berkeley smug.

Also at the Berkeley Bowl: this interesting Bianchi Pista

It that’s what you need to do to make your bike comfortable, you may want to consider a completely different setup. Then again, maybe the owner just likes to feel like his brake lever is giving people the finger all the time.

Speaking of cockpits, I spotted this gem, somewhere in the Bay Area:

I know what you’re thinking – “Is that a spoon duct-taped to the stem?” Why, yes it is. Your next question is probably, “What the hell is it doing there?” I don’t think we really want to know. The upturned bar ends are a nice touch.

This bike rack in the Mission District is what I call secured bike parking! (I probably should not have taken this picture).

I think the lock may have been bigger than the bike in this case, but even on 4th street in Berkeley, you can never be too careful.

Leave a Reply

